17 Different Types of Koi Fish (With Pictures)

The age of Koi determines the age of Koi is determined by the rings that are around their scales’ outer edges: one per two years. Koi appreciate the length, age, weight, patterns, and vibrant colors. Koi are an excellent investment.

One big Koi can easily cost around $40,000-$60,000. One of the oldest Koi are, known as Hanako, was in Japan and lived up to two years and 226 days old. Hanako passed away on July 17, 1977, age the age of 226 years old.

Table of Contents

The two main ingredients of Koi’s diet are corn and rice. Favorite meals. Koi fish were first discovered in China in the 4th century. A typical koi will grow between 24 and 36 inches (60-91 centimeters) in length. There are over 100 species of Koi fish. A typical koi fish weighs around 35 pounds (15 kilograms).

Ghost Koi, a kind of Koi, was introduced in the late 1980s. According to some, Koi came from China. They were following when the Chinese brought in carp fish into Japan and Japan, and the Japanese began breeding common carp to provide a food source at first. Butterfly Koi originated in mid-20th century Japan.

The Japanese breeders crossed traditional Koi to wild Indonesian longfin carp from the river. During mating, females lay hundreds of eggs fertilized by male sperm found in the water during mating. Only half of the fertilized eggs can survive. Koi fish can identify the person feeding them and be taught to eat with their hand. Koi fish recognize the person who provides them and can be taught to eat from their hand.

1. Kohaku


Kohaku Koi fish is a well-known type of Koi due to its white, pure skin that is almost not found in nature and, therefore, difficult to breed by breeding. Kohaku was the first ornamental variety to be developed in Japan.

The Kohaku is a koi fish with a body of stunningly white. They’ll consume all the natural food items you offer them, provided they’re not too large. Kohaku Koi Fish, Size: 10-14 Inch. Koi in the wild form is native to freshwater bodies that surround the Black, Caspian, and Aral Seas.

2. Taisho Sanke

Taisho Sanke
Taisho Sanke

Taisho Sanke, commonly called Sanke, is essentially a Kohaku with black markings or Sumi. Taisho Sanke is among the “Big Three” of the Koi world, comprising Kohaku, Sanke, and Showa.

They are white Koi that have large patterns of hi and smaller sums that are evenly distributed across the body. Koi are best fed a diet that consists of high-quality pellets like Saki-Hikari.

They are fans of temperatures that range between 50 deg F to 78deg, and this is because they live in ponds that are deep enough to maintain their bodies.

3. Showa Koi

Showa Koi
Showa Koi

The Showa is also known as Showa Sanshoku. Showa Sanshoku was developed in the hands of Shigekichi Hoshino from Takesawa Village for the very first time.

The Showa is predominantly black, with only a little white, red being the primary color. Koi fish consume worms, larvae seeds, algae, insects, and crustaceans of small size. Showa Koi Fish Size: 10 to 14 inches long and may live as long as 20 years.

4. Tancho


Tancho is stunning snowy white Koi that have an impressive Hi mark on their heads. The most sought-after Tancho Koi are those with milky white, intense blacks, and vivid red hues.

Koi can be fed with foods, vegetable fruits, and anything that isn’t packed with a lot of carbs. They can grow to 16 inches long

5. Utsuri


Utsuri is another popular Koi fish favorite for Japanese Koi ponds and gardens. It’s a black koi with red, white, or yellow markings, with the pattern of a zebra.

Koi fish can eat almost everything from small insects and bugs to algae and plants in lower pond levels. The Utsuri Koi can develop to 10-14 inches.

6. Bekko


Bekko is a solid-colored non-metallic koi with black spots on its body. Bekko is a white or red- yellow-skinned Koi with black marks Sumi. Wild Koi can be found eating the whole spectrum of bugs, algae, vegetation matter, and other organic substances. Bekko can grow to 20 inches in length.

Read More:-

7. Asagi


Asagi Koi are blue/grey with a pattern on their backs that looks like netting. Asagi is light blue or blue-grey across their bodies and has white or light blue Reticulation and a white head. Koi fish feed on algae and insects, plants, and worms, and they also eat seeds, worms, and other insects. Asagi can reach 16 inches long.

8. Shusui

Shusui was the very first Doitsu type of Koi and is one of the two blue Koi. Another distinctive aspect of the Shushui koi’s appearance is the scales. Asagi can grow up to 18 inches in length.

9. Koromo

Koromo Koromo is a white Koi with the Kohaku pattern of blue and Hi, or black edges on the scales in red. They sport a stunning Hi Kohaku pattern that is a part of their white skins and is indigo blue in the pattern on every scale in its Hi pattern.

Koi are fed wheat germ pellets, which provide the vital vitamins, nutrients, and minerals required. Koromo Koi have an 11.02-inch length.

10. Goshiki

Goshiki is pronounced to be a fascinating species of Koi. They are often found in white and red color patterns. In general, you can feed Koi anything that you feed goldfish. It won’t be long before Goshiki that exceed 80cm are expected.

11. Kawarimono

Kawarimono is a broad category used to describe a broad range of non-metallic Koi. Koi fish with non-metallic bodies, with a slight shine in their bodies. Kawarimono can reach 1m (39 inches) or greater.

12. Hikari Muji

Hikari Muji is a stunning Koi species with metallic bodies but no color pattern, and it is a beautiful variety of Koi. Hikari Mono is a class of koi fish that are unicolored and with skin that has a shiny appearance.

Wild, the Koi fish, consume algae and insects, plants, seeds, worms, and any other food item they can get their hands on.

Interesting Further Reading:-

13. Hikari Moyo

Hikarimoyo is metallic Koi that come in a variety of colors. The metallic white underneath the color may disperse the color over it, making reds appear more orange and blacks appear grayer. You can eat fruits, shrimp, and vegetables, as well as any other food that’s low in carbohydrates.

14. Sanke Koi

Taisho Sanke, commonly called Sanke, is essentially a Kohaku with black marks or Sumi. Sanke has black spots, also known as Sumi markings. They are pretty small compared to the large beni patches.

When in the wild, Koi can be found eating an abundance of bugs, algae, animals, and plant matter. They are sized between 2-3 feet and can weigh as much as 35-40lbs.

15. King Ginrin koi

Kinginrin is a koi with metallic (glittering, metal-flake-appearing) scales. The King Ginrin Koi can be found in white, orange, and black shades. They are omnivores and feed on plants in ponds.

16. Hirenaga

Hirenaga Koi is an aquatic butterfly renowned for its flowing, graceful fins. Hirenaga must be strong and free of tears and should be well-balanced. Koi is a good source of fruits, vegetable fruits, and anything else that isn’t full of carbs.

17. Kikokuryu

The kikokuryu can be described as a bit of a wild-card koi due to the wide range of colors it can be found in. Kikokuryu is, in essence, the term used to describe a metallic Kumonryu, which is a koi that has glossy Platinum the skin as well as fins, with deep Sumi shades throughout.

Koi fish consume almost everything, from tiny insects and bugs to algae and plants. They can grow up to 14.96 inches.

Must Know:-

Similar Posts